Listen to the new album from Tommee Profitt!
Listen to the new album from Tommee Profitt!

JFH Staff Review


Various Artists, WOW Hits 2009
Various Artists
WOW Hits 2009



Album length: 30 tracks
Street Date: October 7, 2008


The WOW series are back, this time with perhaps their most successful album to date. Like all the others, it features pop hits on the first disc, while disc two features more rock hits in the Christian market.

WOW Hits 2009 opens with Casting Crowns' hit single "Every Man," featured originally on their smash release The Altar and the Door. "God With Us" by MercyMe follows, while hits "Call My Name" by Third Day, "Jesus Messiah" by Chris Tomlin, "Let it Fade" by Jeremy Camp, and "You Are Everything" by Matthew West continue this hits collection. Michael W. Smith's live recording of "Mighty to Save" is a definite worship highlight, and "All Because of Jesus" by Fee is a good choice as an immediate follow-up. Natalie Grant's single "In Better Hands" closes out the first disc.

Modern worship band David Crowder* Band kicks off the rock-flavored second disc with "Everything Glorious." Switchfoot's "This is Home," which they recorded for The Chronicles Of Narnia: Prince Caspian movie, is also featured here. Relient K, Hawk Nelson and Stellar Kart bring on the punk with "The Best Thing," "Friend Like That," and "Jesus Loves You," respectively, while newcomers Tenth Avenue North show their hit single "Love is Here" from their debut record. Brandon Heath's irresistibly catchy "Give Me Your Eyes" is a definite highlight, while "Lose My Soul" by TobyMac brings in a bit of hip hop into the mix. Fireflight's "Unbreakable" and Red's "Already Over" bring in the rock and are some of the best tracks on the collection. "All Along" by Remedy Drive and Nevertheless's "Sleeping In" close out WOW Hits 2009.

Now, I have a couple of complaints. One, "Set the World on Fire" by Britt Nicole was put on this record, while it was also on WOW Hits 2008. Did they need to put it on two WOW records? Also, "I'm Letting Go" by Francesca Battistelli could've been easily replaced by her bigger hit, "Free to Be Me".

Other than that, WOW Hits 2009 is a solid collection of some of the biggest hits of Christian pop today. However, if you're looking for more rock and less pop, check out the X album series. But for those who enjoy a mixture of both, definitely give WOW Hits 2009 a listen.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 2/6/10, written by Paul Romano for Jesusfreakhideout.com


Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

 

. Record Label: EMI
. Album length: 30 tracks
. Street Date: October 7, 2008
. Buy It: Amazon.com

    Disc: 1
  1. Everyman - Casting Crowns
  2. God With Us - Mercyme
  3. Call My Name - Third Day
  4. Jesus Messiah - Chris Tomlin
  5. Let It Fade - Jeremy Camp
  6. You Are Everything - Matthew West
  7. Cinderella - Steven Curtis Chapman
  8. How You Live (Turn Up the Music) - Point Of Grace
  9. Mighty To Save - Michael W. Smith
  10. All Because of Jesus - Fee
  11. Set the World On Fire - Britt Nicole
  12. Your Grace is Enough - Matt Maher
  13. Song of Hope (Heaven Come Down) - Robbie Seay Band
  14. In Better Hands - Natalie Grant
  15. Sound of Your Name - Above the Golden State
    Disc: 2
  1. Everything Glorious - David Crowder Band
  2. This is Home - Switchfoot
  3. Friend Like That - Hawk Nelson
  4. The Best Thing - Relient K
  5. Love is Here - Tenth Avenue North
  6. Washed By the Water - Needtobreathe
  7. Give Me Your Eyes - Brandon Heath
  8. I'm Letting Go - Francesca Battistelli
  9. Lose My Soul - TobyMac
  10. Jesus Loves You - Stellar Kart
  11. Count Me In - Leeland
  12. Unbreakable - Fireflight
  13. Already Over - Red
  14. All Along - Remedy Drive
  15. Sleeping - Nevertheless

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

           
Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

Search JFH



Sunday, October 11, 2020
We are the City Lover is Dead - Single (independent)


Monday, October 12, 2020
NF Chasing_(Demo) [feat. Mikayla Sippel] - Single [Capitol]


Tuesday, October 13, 2020
NEEDTOBREATHE Who Am I (feat. Elle King) - Single [Centricity/Elektra]


Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Mastedon Mastedon 3 (with John Elefante) [Girder]
One Bad Pig Smash CD & Colored Vinyl [Girder]


This Friday, October 16, 2020
Dave Barnes We're Gonna Miss These Days - Single (independent)
CAIN Celebrate Me Home - Single [Provident]
Cross Point Music Even More - Single [Centricity]
Sean Curran Catch Me Singing - Single [Capitol CMG]
Jonny Diaz Hear That Story EP [Centricity]
Everything In Slow Motion Influence [Facedown]
Jordan Feliz Next To Me - Single [Centricity]
for KING & COUNTRY Heavenly Hosts - Single [Curb/Word]
Junior Garr Waters - Single [Integrity]
Amy Grant Unguarded: 35th Anniversary 2-Disc White Vinyl [AG]
Jesus Culture Jesus Culture Collection [Capitol CMG]
Kari Jobe Heaven Invade - Single [Capitol CMG]
Local Sound The Free World Vol. 2 EP [Integrity]
Open Heaven Focused On You - Single [DREAM]
Tommee Proffit The Birth of A King [Capitol CMG]
Lynda Randle White Christmas [Gaither]
Chris Renzema Tear My House Down - Single [Centricity]
Jordan Smith Angels We Have Heard (Glory Be) - Single [Provident]
Social Club Misfits Conmigo - Single [Capitol CMG]
Throwback Kid Caught Inside EP [7Core]
Zach Williams Go Tell It On the Mountain - Single [Provident]
Matthew West The Hope of Christmas - Single [Provident]


Next Friday, October 23, 2020
Francesca Battistelli This Christmas [Curb/Word]
Colton Dixon Let It Snow - Single [Atlantic/Hear It Loud]
Earth Groans Waste EP [Solid State]
Fireflight Who We Are: The Head and The Heart [Rockfest]
Jason Gray Order Disorder Reorder [Centricity]
I Am They Faithful God [Provident]
Kari Jobe The Blessing [Sparrow]
Sarah Kruger Light [Integrity]
North Point Worship Abundantly More (live) - Single [Centricity]
Unspoken Good News - Single [Centricity]
Various Artists DREAM Christmas Vol. 5 [DREAM]


For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the new album from Paul Demer!


  • Image Mulan
    PG-13 (Digital HD)


Listen to the new album from Since The Death!