Listen to the new album from ‎Jekalyn Carr!
Listen to the new album from ‎Jekalyn Carr!

JFH Staff Review


Various Artists, Rock, Paper, Scissors, Metal
CLICK COVER TO ENLARGE

Various Artists
Rock, Paper, Scissors, Metal



Album length: 26 tracks: 103 minutes, 49 seconds
Street Date: June 11, 2013


Okay. Admit it. Free music is great. And, one day, I was searching Jesusfreakhideout.com, and I found this metal compilation - Rock, Paper, Scissors, Metal. Being a metalhead myself, I downloaded it instantly, and started to listen to it.

Although nobody buys a two-hour compilation to listen all the way through, this wasn't bad. My first favorite was actually the second track, "Eternity" by Altars. The clean vocals caught my attention, and the instrumental arrangement was unique. "Rise" and "Mon Amie" were also decent tracks. My third favorite was "Superficial Savior." This was a very good track, and really made me want to look into Colossus some more. Tracks 10 (Aliens Ate My Setlist) and 11 (Everything In Slow Motion) proved to be my next two favorite tracks. The inclusion of synthesizer in "To Be Honest..." made the song unique, and the guitar running throughout "Red" was a highlight. Onward to Olympus gave a decent offering, as well as Letter to the Exiles. The genre on this track is primarily hardcore, but it touches on metal and delves a little into death metal with the vocals on "Redeemed," another album favorite.

However, listening to Rock, Paper, Scissors, Metal all the way through could become redundant at times, as it is all the same genre. Some of the vocals are a little off as well. Still, this was a great compilation, and if I wasn't broke, I would buy more music by these artists. Check this album out if you like hardcore music. Plus, it's free.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 10/4/13, written by Benjamin Blanks for Jesusfreakhideout.com


Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

 

. Record Label: What Will People Think? Records / JesusfreakHideout.com
. Album length: 26 tracks: 103 minutes, 49 seconds
. Street Date: June 11, 2013
. Download It FREE: JesusFreakHideout.com

  1. Lifeless Eyes (single) (5:19) - A Sight To See*
  2. Eternity (from the album "Something More") (3:20) - Altars**
  3. Blind Leaders, Mute Teachers (from the EP "Many Waters/Many Floods") (3:53) - Rejoice the Awakening
  4. Rise (from the album "Tepid") (3:56) - See The Light***
  5. Mon Amie (from the EP "Five Points") (3:36) - Lessons
  6. Drags, Drugs and Bones (from the album "Backdraft") (3:50) - Fallstar**
  7. Superficial Saviour (from the album "Time & Eternal") (3:30) - Colossus**
  8. I Am Not Who I Once Was (from the album "The Beginning and the End and the Time In-Between") (3:19) - Me and the Trinity
  9. Redeemed (from the album "When Darkness Reigns") (3:01) - This Divided World
  10. To Be Honest, I Haven't Been On Apollo 13 (from the EP "Illusions") (3:44) - Aliens Ate My Setlist
  11. Red (from the "Red" single) (4:54) - Everything In Slow Motion**
  12. New Line of Defense (from the album "Dethrone") (4:03) - The Order of Elijah****
  13. The Sea Shall Give Up Its Dead (from the album "The Rise") (3:13) - A Lesser Hope*
  14. Wolf's Jaw (from the album "Indicator") (3:09) - Onward To Olympas**
  15. On Trial (from the EP "Paid In Full") (1:35) - No Longer Bound
  16. Enemies of God (from the EP "A Past That Attempts To Define Me") (3:39) - Clear Convictions
  17. The Overcomer (from the EP "[D]elusion") (4:23) - A Body Divided
  18. Worn Out (from the EP "MMXII") (3:50) - Conveyer
  19. Transgressors (from the album "Self Harvest") (2:40) - Ark of the Covenant**
  20. Step Away (from the EP "Still Moving, Still Breathing") (3:20) - Letter to the Exiles**
  21. Prideful Demise (from the album "The Eyes of the Wicked Will Fail") (3:05) - Behold The Kingdom****
  22. Glory (from the EP "Transformation") (4:10) - Saints Will Rise
  23. The Voice of the Righteous (from the EP "Abba Father") (5:12) - Sobre Todo Nombre***
  24. What You've Done (from the EP "EP, Volume 1") (3:23) - Righteous Vendetta
  25. Almost Home (from the EP "On the Shoulders of Giants") (6:02) - On the Shoulders of Giants
  26. Acceptance (from the album "Aletheia") (9:43) - Hope For The Dying**


*courtesy of Sancrosanct Records
**courtesy of Facedown Records
***courtesy of Come&Live!
****courtesy of Rottweiler Records

 

Leave a Comment

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

           
Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

Search JFH



This Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Heath McNease Notes, Volume 1 - EP (independent)


This Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Andy Mineo Always in a Rush (ft. Mez) - Single [Reach]
Anthony Sallee and Phil Keaggy Blackbird - Single (independent)


This Friday, October 30, 2020
1K Phew Already / Gas You Up - Single [Reach]
Audrey Assad Mortal (Live) - Single (independent)
Mack Brock Your Presence Is A Promise - Single [Capitol CMG]
The Dailys (Jillian Edwards & Ellie Holcomb) Falling Apart - Single [Tone Tree]
DOE DOE - EP [RCA Inspiration]
Ernie Haase & Signature Sound Wake Up - Single [StowTown]
for KING & COUNTRY A Drummer Boy Christmas [Curb/Word]
Koryn Hawthorne & Essential Worship The Song Sessions EP [Essential]
Hillsong Worship Take Heart (Again) [Capitol CMG]
Caitie Hurst At All Times - EP [Centricity]
JAG The Longest Road (Remastered) [Girder]
JAG The Only World In Town (Remastered) [Girder]
JAG Fire In the Temple (Remastered) [Girder]
Coby James Homesick - EP [Centricity]
JUDAH. Don't Know If I Believe It (feat. Jon Foreman) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Kings Kaleidoscope Power Perfect EP [Rainbow Records]
The Kingsmen The Wind and Waves Still Know - Single [Horizon]
Tori Kelly Tori Kelly Christmas [Capitol CMG]
LO Worship Compass - Single [LO Records]
My Epic Lower Still (feat. Levi The Poet) - Single [Facedown]
Passion Hope Has A Name [Capitol CMG]
Resistance Resistance EP [Integrity]
Social Club Misfits Feared By Hell [Capitol]
Tenth Avenue North Unplugged For The People (The Acoustic Greatest Hits) [Provident]
True Strength The Mighty Hand of Yahweh [Roxx]
We The Kingdom Light Of The World (Hallelujah) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Tauren Wells Famous For (I Believe) [Sunday A.M. Version] - Single [Provident]
Matthew West Live Before the World Shut Down - EP [Story House]


Next Monday, November 2, 2020
Manic Drive (Vol.1) EP (independent)


Next Friday, November 6, 2020
Cross Point Music Jesus Is King - Single [Centricity]
Open Heaven Triumph [DREAM]
Planetshakers Over It All [Ventur3Media]
Selah Step Into My Story [3Cre8tive]
Joel Vaughn Louder Than The Lies [DREAM]
Vineyard Worship You Speak [Vineyard]


For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the new single from Anthony Sallee!


  • Image Mulan
    PG-13 (Digital HD)


Enter to win the Lord of the Rings Trilogy 4K SteelBook!