Listen to the album Birth of a King by Tommee Profitt!
Listen to the album Birth of a King by Tommee Profitt!

JFH Staff Review

Jonathan Thulin, Science Fiction

Jonathan Thulin
Science Fiction

Artist Info: Discography
Genre(s): Pop
Album length: 12 tracks: 41 minutes, 9 seconds
Street Date: March 17, 2015


Rather than further exploring the theatrical stylings of The White Room, Jonathan Thulin opted for a more energetic and accessible approach with Science Fiction. Loaded with creative synthesizers, catchy beats, and impressive vocal prowess, Science Fiction is brimming with modern pop goodness. Lyrically, each song is based on a single prominent metaphor (often deriving from folklore and fantasy) creating a subtle thematic cohesion. To make things even more interesting, Thulin brings on seven guest vocalists--most of which enhance the character of the album.

"Time Traveler" sets the lively tone for the album with its dance-oriented beat and addictive chorus. This lighthearted tune presents a gospel message cloaked in a sci-fi metaphor: "You wipe the past just like I'm a time traveler." Cranking up the bass, "Jekyll and Hyde" boasts a reverb heavy kick drum and a dynamic mixture of strings and synthesizers. Though it covers the serious topic of hypocrisy, it comes across more entertaining than convicting. Skipping ahead, "Hat Trick" stands out in the middle of the pack with its sharp Egyptian-styled synthesizers and slick rap from Derek Minor. Thulin dazzles and deceives us as a magician in this satirical piece about pretending to be someone you are not. One thing to note here is the phrase "hat trick" is used way too many times (36 to be exact). The vulnerable "Six Feet Under" offers hope for those who are trapped beneath the weight of addiction. The electronic background and steady drums are eloquently accented with strings for this lightly theatrical tune.

Two of the strongest tracks, "Mockingbird" and "The Ruins," are found towards the end of the album. Fans of The White Room will find "Mockingbird" particularly outstanding with its theatrical musical environment and stellar vocal performances by Thulin, Kevin Max and Shine Bright Baby's Emily Fertig. The album's sole balled, "The Ruins," is a beautiful duet between Thulin and Moriah Peters over a slow piano. Gracefully penned by Thulin and Charmaine, this song is based on Matthew 7:24-27 where Jesus tells the parable of the man who built his house on the rock. Closing track "The Theory" is a black sheep with its random AC sound and lack of a distinct metaphor. It's a decent song on its own, but in the context of this project, it ends a superb album on an uneven note.

Jonathan Thulin has been emerging as one of Christian pop's most promising artists, and it's easy to see why. His music bleeds innovation, his vocal range is amazing, and his songwriting is solid. Not everyone will love the shift away from Thulin's "epic pop" sound, but nonetheless, Science Fiction is a worthy follow up to The White Room. With no skippable songs and a handful of standouts, Science Fiction is a fun and well-rounded album.

- Preview Review date: 2/20/15, Review date: 3/6/15, written by Christopher Smith of

Listen to the new project from Elohin!


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

After a steady build-up to his first major release with 2012's The White Room, Jonathan Thulin offers up his fifth full-length album. While his previous venture was more focused on a soulful form of worship, Thulin deviates from this on Science Fiction. A much larger palette of guest artists enter the fold this time around, including Kevin Max, Derek Minor, and Rapture Ruckus.

The general vibe of Science Fiction is somewhat disjointed, with no particular genre coming forth. For example, the album's lead single, "Compass," (probably the best track on the album) feels heavily influenced by Maroon 5, whilst the title track seems to take its cues from Jason Mraz. "Hat Trick" is also a fun song to crank up the volume on. "Mockingbird" is a beautiful and alluring piece, and one of Science Fiction's few tracks worthy of defining Thulin's career. "The Ruins" is the one song on the album reminiscent of his previous works, and it is very much needed by the time the album proceeds to wrap up.

Unfortunately, the lyrical prowess Thulin previously wielded on The White Room has considerably abated. Musically, Science Fiction is a strong project, but the sincerity that once permeated Thulin's music seems to be missing. Nothing here is particularly exceptional or original. Overall, Science Fiction is a good album, but I had hoped for a more cohesive and thought-out project. - Review date: 2/25/15, David Craft


. Record Label: DREAM Records
. Album length: 12 tracks: 41 minutes, 9 seconds
. Street Date: March 17, 2015
. Buy It:

  1. Prelude (1:04)
  2. Time Traveler (3:22)
  3. Jekyll And Hyde feat. Rapture Ruckus (3:06)
  4. Compass feat. Manwell Reyes (3:44)
  5. Science Fiction (3:16)
  6. Hat Trick feat. Derek Minor (3:23)
  7. Cry Wolf (3:40)
  8. Fountain feat. Tauren Wells (3:43)
  9. 6 Feet Under (4:00)
  10. Mockingbird feat. Kevin Max & Shine Bright Baby (3:56)
  11. The Ruins feat. Moriah Peters (4:03)
  12. The Theory (3:58)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics


Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new project from Elohin!

Search JFH

This Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Jon Foreman Love - EP [Lowercase People]

This Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Andy Mineo Happy Thoughts EP [Reach]

This Friday, December 4, 2020
Antoine Bradford Seasons Change (feat. Shua) - Single [Humble Beast]
Equippers Revolution Can't Live Without You - Single [DREAM]
Koryn Hawthorne Pray (Remix) [feat. KB] - Single [Provident]
JUDAH. Fullness Of God - Single [Capitol CMG]
The Kingsmen Tell It on the Mountain - Single [Horizon]
MercyMe Say I Won't - Single [Fair Trade]
Neal Morse Jesus Christ The Exorcist (Live At Morsefest 2018) [Frontiers]
The Neon Ambience A Neon Christmas [7Core Music]
Janet Paschal Home Again (Vault Series) [StowTown]
Janet Paschal Sounds Like Sunday (Vault Series) [StowTown]
Janet Paschal Treasure (Vault Series) [StowTown]
Wande The Decision EP [Reach]

Next Friday, December 11, 2020
Lauren Daigle Look Up Child (Limited Edition Vinyl) [Centricity]
Patrick Mayberry Breakthrough Miracle Power - Single [Centricity]
Vashawn Mitchell Home For Christmas (Digital EP) [Tyscot/Fair Trade]

For all release dates, click here!

Pre-order the new album from Dre Trinity!

Listen to the new album from Robby John!